Snooker player Mark Sileby presenting

Recognition Awards 2022

We celebrate the continuous hard work done in Football across Leicestershire & Rutland

Last Thursday the Leicestershire and Rutland County FA hosted their recognition awards for 2022. The night celebrate the work various roles do within Football across Leicestershire & Rutland. 

 The night combined the celebrations of the long service awards and the 2022 Grassroots Awards Winners for Leicestershire & Rutland. 

The awards were presented by special guests, Mehmooda Duke current high Sheriff of Leicestershire and 4x World Snooker Champion Mark Selby.

It was great to see familiar and new faces around Holmes Park, celebrating the continuous hard work that is carried out across Leicestershire and Rutland on a daily bases.

Leicestershire chair of the board presenting

Mark Silbey and high sheriff Mehmooda Duke


To see more pictures from the Recognition Awards night please check our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Long Service Award Winners:

15 Years Refereeing

Michael Cornes

Lynne Meason

Ian Stanbridge

Ryan Goddard

Michael Kneafsey

Darren Green

Tom Bingley

Keith Scott

25 Years Refereeing

Shaun Garner

David Thorpe 

Andrew Barney

Jim Waldron

40 Years Refereeing

Brian Webster

David Crowe 

25 Years Secretary

Andy Poole (Glenfield Town FC)

Special Recognition Awards

Allan Westray

Ros Neal

Steve Abson (Gerry Cooper Award)

Grassroots Awards 2022

Michelle Keatman – Grassroots Coach of the Year for Adults

Russell Hibbert – Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year

Carlos Oliveira -  Grassroots Volunteer of the Year

Ricki Greatwood – Grassroots Match Official of the Year

Tye Green – Rising Star of the Year

Harborough Town & Borough Alliance – Grassroots Project of the Year

Kirby Muxloe FC – Grassroots Club of the Year

Phil Stockton – The Spirit of Grassroots Football Award

Gary Houston – Grassroots Coach of the Year for Youth